Caucus Leadership

Sen. Andy Billig

Majority Leader

3rd Legislative District - Spokane
Andy Billig is a proud father, businessperson and active member of the Spokane community. He was elected to the state Senate by constituents of the 3rd District in 2012. He is an advocate for children, working families, and small businesses, putting people first in Spokane and throughout the state.

Sen. Manka Dhingra

Deputy Majority Leader

45th Legislative District – Redmond
Manka was elected to the state Senate in 2017 by constituents of the 45th District. She is a Senior Deputy Prosecuting Attorney with the King County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office and an anti-domestic violence advocate and community leader. She also serves on the board of the National Alliance on Mental Illness Eastside.

Sen. Bob Hasegawa

Majority Caucus Chair

11th Legislative District – Seattle
Bob is a longtime labor and social justice activist. He led many workers struggles, winning top wages and benefits for working families and retirees, and he collaborated in many social justice struggles to protect civil rights, democracy, the environment and our constitutional rights.

Sen. Claudia Kauffman

Leadership Liaison to Tribal Nations

47th Legislative District – Kent
Sen. Claudia Kauffman was sworn into the Washington State Senate in January 2023. A resident of Kent for over 20 years, Kauffman previously served as the elected senator for the 47th District from 2007-11. Kauffman is a fierce advocate for legislation and policy to protect children, address equity, and improve public education in Washington. She currently serves as Intergovernmental Affairs Liaison for the Muckleshoot Indian Tribe.

Sen. Karen Keiser

President Pro Tempore

33rd Legislative District – Des Moines
Karen Keiser has been a Washington State Senator since 2001 and has earned a reputation as a tireless advocate for improving health care. Before coming to the Senate, she served in the House of Representatives from 1996 to 2001.

Sen. Joe Nguyễn

Vice Chair, Ways & Means (Operating Budget)

34th Legislative District – White Center
Sen. Joe Nguyễn was born in White Center, raised in Burien. His experiences growing up in an immigrant community as the son of Vietnamese refugees and being raised by a single mother informs much of his service today.

Sen. Jamie Pedersen

Majority Floor Leader

43rd Legislative District – Seattle
Jamie Pedersen grew up in Puyallup, graduated from Puyallup High School and worked at McDonald’s to help put himself through Yale College, where he studied Russian and history, and graduated summa cum laude.

Sen. Emily Randall

Deputy Majority Leader

26th Legislative District – Bremerton
Emily Randall is the daughter of two union workers and was born on the Kitsap Peninsula and raised in Port Orchard. She’s worked for ten years in health care and education fundraising and advocacy and in the Legislature plans to focus on affordable college, apprenticeship and job training programs, and removing health care barriers for Washingtonians. She was elected in 2018.

Sen. Rebecca Saldaña

Caucus Vice Chair

37th Legislative District – Seattle
Rebecca was appointed to her seat in 2016. Known as a problem solver and tireless advocate, Rebecca most recently served as the Executive Director for Puget Sound Sage – a nonprofit that promotes affordable and equitable housing and transportation policies, environmental justice and workers’ rights.

Sen. Derek Stanford

Leadership Liaison to Tribal Nations

1st Legislative District – Bothell
Derek Stanford served in the Washington House of Representatives from 2011-2019, before being appointed to the Senate. He earned a PhD in Statistics at the University of Washington, Currently, Sen. Stanford runs a small business specializing in analytics solutions and statistical consulting. Previously, he has served as director of analytics at several companies.

Sen. Claire Wilson

Chair, Human Services

30th Legislative District – Auburn
Claire Wilson has represented the people of the 30th District since 2018. She is in her second year as chair of the Human Services Committee and is proud to serve as vice chair of the Early Learning and K-12 Committee. She is also a member of the Transportation Committee, Rules Committee and holds the role of Assistant Majority Whip.