Sen. Steve Conway (D-Tacoma) was selected recently as Washington STEM’s 2020 Legislator of the Year. Conway shares this distinction with fellow honoree Sen. Emily Randall (D-Bremerton).

Conway was nominated by the regional Tacoma STEAM Network and Foundation for Tacoma students for his effort in ensuring students have access to STEM education opportunities via the Leadership Assistance for Science Education Reform (LASER) program.

“Study after study tells us that the more access Washington students have to STEM education, the better outcomes they will have in life,” Conway said. “I want to thank Washington STEM for this honor and for their tireless work in making sure Washington’s students shine academically and then professionally.”

Washington STEM’s Legislator of the Year Award is presented annually to members of the State Legislature who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in advancing legislation and policies that promote excellence, innovation, and equity in science, technology, engineering, and math education for all Washington students, especially those furthest from opportunity.

To be considered for the award, legislators must demonstrate an awareness and interest of equity in STEM education in their respective communities, actively engage in Washington STEM’s two focus areas- Career Pathways and Early STEM, and advocate for improved policies and practices as they relate to STEM education.