Washingtonians 18 and under soon won’t have to pay to use public transit across most — if not all — of Washington state.

In March, the Legislature approved $3 billion in additional money for transit that  will roll out over the next 16 years.

But about half of the money comes with a specific condition attached: Transit agencies must let people 18 and under board buses and trains  free.