OLYMPIA – The Washington State Senate today honored Tahoma High School’s “We the People” team with a resolution celebrating the school’s 24th state championship in the last 26 years.

Sponsored by Sen. Mark Mullet (D-Issaquah) and Sen. Lisa Wellman (D-Mercer Island), the resolution celebrated the school’s impressive legacy while team members looked on from the Senate gallery.

“Tahoma High’s team and coach continue to impress me with their commitment to leaving a legacy for our state, and this year has proven no differently,” said Mullet. “The ‘We the People’ program provides students with important lessons about civic engagement and participation. It’s great to see these students excel in a program that promotes important critical-thinking skills throughout life, all while strengthening our democracy.”

At the state “We the People” championship in January, Tahoma High edged out all competitors for the 12th consecutive year. The team will represent the state of Washington in the 33rd annual “We the People” national finals in Washington D.C. later this spring. Tahoma’s team has advanced to the final’s top 10 in six of the last eight years.

“I am awe-struck by the continued success of the Tahoma High School We the People team,” Wellman said. “This group of students is a great example for our entire state — adults and students alike — as we continue to discuss the importance of civics education in our classrooms.”

“We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution” is a national civics education program. More than 30 million students and 75,000 educators have participated in the program since its creation in 1987.

Along with coach Gretchen Wulfing, students honored this year include Riley Barlett, Dane Bowman-Weston, Katerina Bruhl, Matthew Bruneel, Neena Chana, Claire Cunningham, Grace Denison, Shelby Ellis, Djanaya Esiong, Issabella Huser, Sarah Kropelnicki, Preston Lievano, Jaden Mason, Aidan Mercado, Emma Nickel, Gage Nickel, Calvin O’Connell, Luke Oriolt, Daniela Perezechica-Trancoso, Claire Riordan, Elizabeth St. John, Jasmine Tran and Janey Yee.