Randall elected Majority Whip for the Senate Democratic Caucus

This afternoon, Senator Emily Randall(D-Bremerton) was elected Majority Whip by her Democratic caucus colleagues in the Washington State Senate. The first-term lawmaker, who is entering her third session in Olympia, will assist both Democratic and Republican colleagues as a member of the caucus leadership team to ensure that this session’s priorities and floor debates move forward in an efficient fashion. 

“I’m honored that my colleagues have placed their trust and confidence in me,” Randall said. “This year more than ever, it’s essential that legislators work together as one team in service of the people of Washington — to get us back on the path toward health and stability. I’m ready to help move us toward a future of thriving, not just for my neighbors but for all Washingtonians.” 

Randall, a first-generation college graduate, stepped in as acting chair of the Senate Higher Education and Workforce Development Committee just months after being sworn into her first term, and was elected by her colleagues to the position for the 2020 session. She has also served for the past two sessions as the vice chair for the Senate Health and Long Term Care Committee. To assume the responsibilities of the Majority Whip position, Randall will step down from her vice chair role, though she will continue to serve on that committee and be a strong advocate for health equity. Randall is also a member of the Senate Transportation Committee. 

Randall has dedicated herself to expanding health care access and affordability, investing in higher education opportunities and resources for Washington students, and improving budget allocations to transportation infrastructure projects in her region.  

Her advocacy and devotion to elevating the voices of historically under-resourced communities have been recognized through prestigious honors like the Outstanding Service to Veterans Legislator of the Year Award from the Department of Veterans Affairs and the Governor’s Veterans Affairs Advisory Committee, the Council of State Governments inaugural 20 Under 40 Leadership Award, the 13th annual LGBTQ Community Pride Pearl Award, and the Washington Student Association’s 2019 Legislator of the Year Award.