Lexington, Ky. – The Council of State Governments is excited to recognize Senator T’wina Nobles as a recipient of the 2021 CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award. This annual honor highlights the outstanding work of 20 up-and-coming elected and appointed officials from across the country who not only exemplify strong leadership skills but have also demonstrated a true commitment to serving the citizens of their states.

“The state officials named to the 2021 class of The Council of State Governments 20 Under 40 Leadership Award represent a broad cross-section of the exceptional leaders that successfully govern our states,” said David Adkins, CSG executive director/CEO. “Those recognized this year come from diverse backgrounds, different political parties, different branches of state government and from every region of our country, but they share a singular commitment to make a difference for those they serve.”

Leaders from across the country including the 50 states, Washington, D.C., and the U.S. territories were nominated for this year’s leadership award class.

“I am extremely honored to receive this acknowledgment,” said Senator T’wina Nobles (D-Fircrest). “This award illustrates that the work we have done this year on behalf of Washington State has not gone unnoticed despite the mostly remote nature of the legislative session. It is also a testament to the value of our hard work and dedication, to our perseverance through long hours and difficult conversations. I am thrilled to share this honor with nineteen other young policymakers around the country. Across the country, our work means an increase in access to resources, opportunities for education and better careers, improved infrastructure, and so much more. The future looks very bright.”

Founded in 1933, The Council of State Governments is a nonpartisan organization that brings state officials together to learn from each other and to craft solutions to today’s public policy challenges.

“The hard-working leaders recognized with the CSG 20 Under 40 Leadership Award have demonstrated the ability to productively collaborate to achieve consensus and produce results,” Adkins said. “While they may be young, their public service honors the oldest and best values of our democracy.”

Award recipients will be honored at the 2021 CSG National Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico in December.

To learn more about the 20 Under 40 Leadership Award, visit web.csg.org/20-40/. To learn more about The Council of State Governments, the nation’s only nonpartisan organization serving all three branches of state government, visit csg.org.

Congratulations to these 20 leaders: