27th Legislative District Team

Sen. Jeannie Darneille

Chair, Senate Human Services, Reentry & Rehabilitation Committee

Sen. Darneille is the chair of the Senate Human Services, Reentry & Rehabilitation Committee, and also serves on the Housing Stability & Affordability and Ways & Means Committees, and the Behavioral Health Subcommittee. She works to increase education funding for all learners; expand health care for children, families, and the disabled; develop a safe environment for children and adults to learn, grow, and thrive; safeguard civil liberties; and promote opportunities to create living-wage jobs.

Rep. Laurie Jinkins

Speaker of the House

Rep. Laurie Jinkins made history on January 13, 2020 when she became Washington state’s first woman and first out lesbian Speaker of the House. Prior to becoming Speaker, she served on the House Appropriations and Health Care & Wellness committees, and chaired the Civil Rights and Judiciary Committee. She serves as Senior Advisor at the Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department, and has been active in advancing Washington’s anti-discrimination laws both prior to and during her time in the House.

Rep. Jake Fey

Chair, House Transportation Committee

Rep. Jake Fey is the chair of the House Transportation Committee, and also serves as a member of the House Environment & Energy Committee. In addition, he serves as the Vice Chair of the Council of State Governments’ Transportation Committee.

One of his top priorities is ensuring a cleaner, more sustainable transportation system. In 2019, he introduced the Green Transportation bill, which will help facilitate a transition to electric vehicles and cleaner fuels.