Sen. Jeannie Darneille, D-Tacoma, has been named the 2013 Senate Democratic Caucus Legislator of the Year by the Washington Council of Police and Sheriffs (WACOPS).

“I am honored to receive this award,” said Darneille. “The men and women of law enforcement all across our state deserve our profound thanks and gratitude for the work they do.”

Each year, WACOPS honors members from each caucus in the Legislature who demonstrate the strongest support of the law enforcement community. In addition to Darneille this year’s honorees include: Sen. Kirk Pearson, R-Monroe; Rep. Marcus Riccelli, D-Spokane; and Rep. David Hayes, R-Camano Island.

“Law enforcement officers are at the forefront of our justice system,” said Darneille. “We need to ensure that they have the right tools they need in order to keep all Washingtonians and our communities safe.”

The Washington Council of Police and Sheriffs is the largest and oldest organization that represents over 4,000 police officers and deputy sheriffs in Washington State. WACOPS works through legislative action and legal defense to protect the rights and quality of life for law enforcement officers.