Sen. Andy Billig (D-Spokane) was reelected Senate Majority Leader on Monday by the members of the Senate Democratic Caucus. Sen. Bob Hasegawa was elected Caucus Chair, filling the position left vacant with the retirement of former Sen. John McCoy in April.

“It is an incredible honor to receive the trust of my colleagues,” Billig said. “I have the good fortune of working alongside dedicated, compassionate and thoughtful public servants in the Senate, and I cannot imagine a better team to help our state move forward. Washington families and small businesses are facing unprecedented challenges, but Washingtonians have never shied away from a challenge. There’s nothing we cannot overcome if we work together.”

“I am so honored to be chosen by my colleagues as the newest Majority Caucus Chair in the Washington State Senate,” said Hasegawa. “We may be facing a year full of challenges, but our goal of putting the people of Washington first will remain the top priority. From providing families with the resources necessary to recover from the pandemic, to increasing access to high-speed broadband for all Washingtonians, to addressing the budget shortfall we face through an equity lens, bold intentions from state lawmakers will pave the way towards a better Washington that we can all thrive in. I’m eager to get to work and build that future.”

Billig, who represents Spokane’s 3rd Legislative District, was elected to the House of Representatives in 2010, the Senate in 2016 and was first elected Majority Leader in 2018. Under Billig’s leadership, the Senate has prioritized education funding, election reform, health care, the environment, job creation and other issues that have helped make Washington’s economy one of the best in the nation.

Hasegawa is a lifelong resident of the 11th Legislative District, which he now represents in the State Senate after 8 years in the House of Representatives. As a longtime labor and social justice advocate, he uses his voice to address the struggles of working families, small businesses, and disenfranchised communities. He is Vice Chair of the Senate Financial Institutions, Economic Development & Trade Committee, and serves on the Ways & Means, Rules, and State Government & Tribal Relations Committees.

The Majority Caucus Chair is primarily responsible for serving as chair for all caucus meetings. The chair is also a member of the caucus leadership team, which plays a large role in determining which legislative priorities to advance during the legislative session.